Level Up

I have been in the middle of a few books for quite some time (my GoodReads “to read” bookshelf can attest to this). I am stuck on the last 100 pages of Lauren Oliver’s Delirium – I am too far in to the book to give up on it, yet I can’t find the motivation to finish. I just want to know what happens so that I can move on.

I started State of Wonder, Ann Patchett’s new book before school started. I was so excited for this book as I loved, loved, loved Bel Canto. I have only read the first few pages, so it is not fair to make a judgement on the book, but I am having trouble jumping in to the plot. I think I need to have faith in Ms. Patchett and give the book a good go when I have a large chunk of time to devote to it.

I have also been reading some professional development books, mostly on PLCs. Although today I got Cris Tovani’s new book, So What do They Really Know? I am excited to read this as I have found Tovani’s other books interesting and useful – the best combination in professional development.

With all of these books in my currently reading pile, I have begun to feel frustrated with not finishing one. Today that changed. I stopped by the library on my way home knowing that there was something there for me (I am constantly requesting and never know what I am going to get). Among the two books and two CDs that I got was Level Up by Gene Luen Yang. I loved American Born Chinese, so I was excited for this book, and it did not disappoint.

Dennis is a young man who wants to play video games despite his parents admonition that he must study so that he can grow up and be successful. Haunted by the expectations of his parents, his father in particular, Dennis enrolls in medical school. Thinking that he is destined to be a gastroenterologist, Dennis is constantly forced in to situations that create adverse reactions. Dennis must face his fears or his parents in order to move forward with his life.

Level Up was not as enjoyable as American Born Chinese (is it fair to compare the two?), but this might be because I thought that the two were very similar and American Born Chinese did it better. Though Level Up did not focus on race, it did put an emphasis on the difference between the dreams of two generations.

Level Up was an enjoyable, quick read. It was nice to move a book so quickly from to be read, to reading, to read. And, today was the perfect fall day to curl up on the couch with a blanket and a good book.

This entry was posted in Books I've Read, Education, YA Lit. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

