Wintergirls

I just finished reading (listening to) Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson, and in true Halse Anderson fashion the book blew me away.

Lia is a wintergirl, she denies herself the sustenance she needs to feel the joy of seeing her weight drop. It is a problem that she doesn’t want to solve, a problem that she doesn’t need to solve.

Cassie was Lia’s best friend. She was Lia’s best friend until she decided that Lia was a bad influence. Now Cassie is haunting Lia. Now Cassie is the bad influence.

Wintergirls made me love Lia and her parents; it also made me hate Lia and her parents. I so wanted to reach inside the pages of the book and force Lia to get the help that she needed. I wanted Lia to grow strong so she could be a good daughter, a good big sister, and a good friend. But I couldn’t. The book made me feel the helplessness that Lia’s parents were feeling. I felt exasperated with a protagonist who refused to get help. But I believe this is the point of the book. Halse Anderson’s novel teaches the reader that we cannot force help onto a someone who is unwilling to change. Instead we can only continue to help them see the positive side of change.

This entry was posted in Books I've Read. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wintergirls

  1. christina says:

    Such a great book! I listened to this book two years ago and really enjoyed the audio of it. (I then purchased a copy for my classroom bookshelves). Anderson is amazing. I adore that she can go from historical to contemporary.

Leave a Reply

