Every Book I’ve Ever Read

In 2010 I started keeping a list of books that I read and the dates that I finished them. I like to think of it is a time line / time capsule of my life as seen through the stack of literature on my bedside table. Now I have decided that I should take on the (nearly) impossible and try to list every book that I have ever read previous to January 1, 2010. My motives are simple. I want to know (or at least be able to estimate) how many books I have read in my lifetime. Why I want to know this is probably a mixture of my dorkiness and my love of making lists.

The rules are simple, if I’ve read it then it goes on the list. If I haven’t read it then it doesn’t go on the list. Dates are not important, neither is order (although I do see alphabetical somewhere in the future).

This is sure to be a work in progress, for even as I type this the list of books is growing exponentially in my mind. I think of one title which leads me to another and another and another. It is like some sort of perverse Rorschach or word association test.

So, without delaying the inevitable (and before my mind turns on me and refuses to remember any titles) I begin…

You can follow my progress here.

This entry was posted in Books I've Read, Newsworthy. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Every Book I’ve Ever Read

  1. christina says:

    That is a huge and daunting task. I am impressed that yo are attempting it. Best of luck!

  2. Pamela Lear says:

    Hi Nathan – – I found your blog from the comment you made on Denise Goldman’s new blog. I’m Denise’s sister. When I saw you had posted the quote “I Need Books as I Need Air”, I knew that I’d enjoy your blog. Also, I started keeping a list of everything I read back in 2003. It’s a kick to refer back to, and to realized how much you read in a year!! Good luck with the list of everything you’ ve ever read! Just a quick glance at a few posts tells me we’ve read some of the same things, so I look forward to reading more …

    Pamela Lear

  3. jobaybe1961 says:

    I thought I was the only person in the world taking on this task! I too am making a list of every book I’ve ever read!! Exciting and terrifying, all at the same time! Good luck to both of us! 🙂

Leave a Reply

