How Cool Is This?

Nintendo just announced that they are releasing a reading “game” for the Nintendo DS. Okay, so it is not so much a game as it is a program to turn your DS into an eReader. For $19,99 you can buy a game cartridge that has 100 Classic Titles that can be read on your DS and the option to download 10 more titles.

As of right now all of the books that are offered are classics that are in the public domain. Or, as Nintendo phrases it, “Timeless tales of adventure, mystery, romance, and suspense … all in the palm of your hand.” I am waiting for Nintendo to start making deals with publishing companies and begin offering new YA titles.

I don’t have a DS, but I know many of my students do. I can’t wait to start talking up reading on the DS to them.

* * *

Today in my Reading Education class I was directed to the site Words Without Borders, The Online Magazine for International Literature. I have only begun to explore the multitude of resources on the website, and I have yet to navigate to the educator page, but I am excited about all the good stuff that I (hopefully) will find.

This entry was posted in New Things, Newsworthy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

