Owen and Mzee, meet Tara and Bella

Earlier this week I was poking around on the internet, a favorite past time of mine, and stumbled across the blog of a kindergarten teacher, Look At My Happy Rainbow. Mr. Halpern, the blog’s author, recently posted about one of my favorite picture books, Owen and Mzee. Owen and Mzee is the true story of a giant tortoise and a hippo who become fast friends after the hippo’s family dies in an earthquake. The book speaks to the true value of friends (much like Freak the Mighty) and the importance of accepting differences. It is a book that I love to share with anyone who will listen and often times those who are forced to listen, my students.

In the comments section of Look At My Happy Rainbow someone posted a link to a YouTube video about an elephant and a dog who share a story similar to Owen and Mzee. Watching the video made me smile, so I thought I would share:

This entry was posted in The Power of Words and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

