Short Story Thursday

I think this (short story Thursday) should be a new thing.

Short stories are by far the unloved step-child of the literary world, or at least that is how it seems to me. Novels, novels, novels … that is all that I hear my friends talk about: What book are you reading? Or, I just finished reading this really great book? But never, Have you read this short story?

I love short stories and I read a great one today while I was at the gym. Yes, I was exercising my brain and my body. I am such an awesome multi-tasker.

Today I read The Sniper by Liam O’Flaherty. Apparently it is a classic that I had not yet read, until today. It is short, really short, only four pages, and I don’t want to give away the end, but I will say this: imagine Ireland in the midst of civil war and an injured sniper sitting on a roof contemplating how he will make it off of that roof and back to safety.

If you haven’t yet read it, you can read the story in whole here.

I have also been listening to the New Yorker fiction podcast. Each month they ask an author to pick their favorite story from the New Yorker archive. The author then reads and discusses the story. It is really quite interesting. Check it out if you haven’t already. I only wish that it was a weekly thing so that I would have more episodes to listen to while driving.

This entry was posted in Short Story Thursday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

