Sunday Salon: My very first

My very first Sunday Salon post, a perfect way to spend the very first Sunday of a brand new year. Instead of discussing the book that I am reading today (America, America by Ethan Canin – I just started it and as of yet, I have no firm position, although I am liking it) I thought I would think back to my very ambitious winter break reading list. This seems especially perfect, today being the last day of winter break.

To start, these are the books that I read over winter break:

  • Netherland – Joseph O’Neill
  • City of Thieves – David Benioff
  • Let the Great World Spin – Collum McCann

Netherland disappointed, City of Thieves entertained, and Let the Great World Spin … there is no one word to sum up that book. I liked it, that’s for sure. It was not the best book that I have ever read, but it was good, very good, different than I thought it was going to be, but good. I am very intrigued with the idea that the same moment in history can affect so many people in such vastly different ways, which is one of the topics that Let the Great World Spin dealt with. What I really liked about Let the Great World Spin is that it was not an in your face type of book. It told a story and let you take from it what you wanted (with one minor exception at the very end).

City of Thieves is the book that I would recommend for all my friends and family to read. I was hesitant to read it. The story line seemed contrived and I thought that I was going to be disappointed, but I wasn’t. The story of two mismatched Russian citizens sent to find a dozen eggs in the Russian countryside during WWII kept my attention for the most perfect two days of winter break reading. I was totally and completely engrossed in the story and, more importantly, in the characters. Benioff did an awesome job of making the two protagonists come to life. He also slipped in a few twists and turns that I did not see coming, which is always enjoyable.

My second list would have been the list of books that I did not get to over winter break. However, this is pretty much the ever growing list of books that I want to read that is already laid out on the Books I want to read page. This is a list that will forever keep growing and I will forever attempt to tackle it.

***

On another note, I am looking for a good challenge to attempt to complete this year. I know that I won’t be able to read 100 books, life is just too crazy. Maybe 50 is a better goal for me. But the challenge that I think I would really like to set for myself is to read 25 new authors. I have a tendency to to read an author, fall in love with a book, and then read everything that that author has written. So, I think reading 25 new author’s will be a good place to start, that and reading at least 50 books this year. Sounds good to me.

This entry was posted in Books I've Read, Sunday Salon. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunday Salon: My very first

  1. A wonderful blog, A Novel Challenge, lists every challenge on the planet.

    I’m trying seven, mostly to motivate me to check out books from the library and read from my TBR and try some difficult books.

  2. my goal is to read 20 books! or should it be 25? i don’t want to get too crazy. hang out soon? ok. xo

Leave a Reply

