Done, and moved on

I finally finished The Lost Symbol. I don’t want to hate on Dan Brown, he writes a specific type of book meant for a specific audience, and I did enjoy reading it. The thing is … it just wasn’t as good as I wanted it to be. I wanted a book that I couldn’t put down, a book that was so good I would finish it in a number of days. The Lost Symbol simply was not this book. It started off slow, and then stayed slow, and finally picked up toward the end. But, by this point I was already done investing time in the book.

I feel bad bashing Mr. Brown. I didn’t hate The Lost Symbol, in fact I would recommend it as a good beach read (winter break is closer than it appears). I think I just happened to read this book at the wrong time. I really needed long periods of time to devote to reading the book so that I could truly invest in the adventure of it.

The good news is that I have started a new book (I always love going to my pile of unread books and picking out what I will read next). I am currently reading Ordinary People by Judith Guest. This book was put into my text loving hands by way of a recommendation from a friend, kind of. Ordinary People.JPG

One of my favorite things to do (and yes, this will mark me as somewhat of a geek, but I own it) is to read books that people mention on the sly. For example, a classmate in my graduate school program mentioned Ordinary People while telling another story. She briefly spoke highly of the novel and then moved on. I remembered the title, and now I am reading it.

I think that these are the best types of recommendations. There is no huge hype, so if the book isn’t all it is cracked up to be I am not as disappointed. I also think that people often forget about books they love until they are telling a story where that book makes an appearance. They might not stop to tell you how wonderful and amazing the book is, but through the story they are telling one can infer how much they liked the book. Maybe this doesn’t make any sense, but so far it has worked for me.

This entry was posted in Books I've Read and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

